Playlist of the Week – Favorite Not Extremely Popular Cover Songs

“Oh neat! 80 minutes, that’s how many minutes are on a blank cd-r.” – You

So the title explains it all: These are my favorite cover songs excluding the ones that are extremely well known. Cuz I’m a hipster, I guess? But not like a BIG hipster because these are all relatively known bands and songs. Or does that make me more of a hipster?

They’re kinda all across the board, and great for different reasons. For the most part theres a lot of pop-jokey titles in there, but they’re all performed pretty genuinely.

  1. Wilco & My Morning Jacket – Dont’ Fear the Reaper (Blue Oyster Cult)
  2. M. Ward – Let’s Dance (David Bowie)
  3. Cee Lo Green – Radioactive (Kings of Leon)
  4. Foo Fighters – Keep the Car Running (Arcade Fire)
  5. Gaslight Anthem – I Do Not Hook Up (Kelly Clarkson)
  6. Franz Ferdinand – Call Me (Blondie)
  7. Discovery – I Want You Back (Jackson 5)
  8. My Morning Jacket – Tyrone (Erykah Badu)
  9. My Morning Jacket – Rocket Man (Elton John)
  10. Whiskeytown – Dreams (Fleetwood Mac)
  11. Ryan Adams – Wonderwall (Oasis)
  12. Arctic Monkeys – You Know I’m No Good (Amy Winehouse)
  13. MGMT – This Must Be The Place (Talking Heads)
  14. The Kooks – Violet Hill (Coldplay)
  15. Bon Iver – Your Love (Outfield)
  16. Pearl Jam – I Got You (Split Enz)
  17. Eddie Vedder w/ Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – The Waiting (Tom Petty & Heartbreakers) (this is definitely the best of the batch)

Link


Leave a Reply

