Playlist of the Week – Cool People’s Lounge

(No, there’s not a real significance to this picture. I google image searched Curtis Mayfield and that came up and I was like “Oh, that looks niiiiice.”)

A few vacations back I invented the idea of the ‘Cool People’s Lounge,’ essentially, it was a way for me to isolate myself and read in peace. But throughout the years I’ve adapted it to an imaginary place that I’m like 1% cool enough to attend.

 And here’s how I know: When I’m listening to this play list every time I hear the Eric Hutchinson song I have a vivid image of people being very skeptical of his him based on his appearance, then he starts to sing and like a black church people start yelling things like “Boy can sing!”

So ya, these are the things I think about when I’m lying on my sixty dollar Futon from Target.

  1. Stevie Wonder – My Cherie Amour
  2. Sam Cooke – A Change is Gonna Come
  3. Same Cooke – Bring It On Home To Me
  4. R. Kelly – You Made Me Love You
  5. Marvin Gaye – Heard It Through The Grapevine
  6. James Brown – Please, Please, Please
  7. The Impressions – People Get Ready
  8. Howlin Wolf – Smokestack Lightning
  9. Gnarls Barkley – Who’s Gonna Save My Soul Now?
  10. Gladys Knight – Midnight Trail to Georgie
  11. Four Tops – Baby I Need Your Lovin
  12. Eric Hutchinson – OK, It’s All Right With Me (Live)
  13. Curtis Mayfield – Only You Babe
  14. Bill Withers – Aint No Sunshine
  15. BB King – The Thrill Is Gone
  16. Amy Winehouse – Valerie (Deluxe Edition)

Download Playlist


Leave a Reply

